Faculty Directory

Core Faculty

Joel Saltz   

Joel Saltz, MD, PhD
Professor and Chair
Co-Director, Institute for Engineering-Driven Medicine

HSC L3-043 | 631-638-1420 | Joel.Saltz@stonybrookmedicine.edu

High end and data intensive computing, Applications of Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence, Pathology Informatics, Large Scale Data Analytics, Clinical Informatics

     
Tahsin Kurc   

Tahsin Kurc, PhD
Research Associate Professor and Vice Chair

HSC L3-045 | 631-638-0038 | tahsin.kurc@stonybrook.edu

High end and data intensive computing, Applications of Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence, Pathology Informatics, Large Scale Data Analytics, Clinical Informatics

     
Chao   

Chao Chen, PhD
Assistant Professor

CS 2313C | 631-632-2593 | chao.chen.1@stonybrook.edu

Biomedical image analysis, machine learning, topological data analysis, computer vision

     
Rajarsi Gupta  

Rajarsi Gupta, MD, PhD
Instructor of Clinical Pathology

HSC L3-045 H | 631-638-1330| rajarsi.gupta@stonybrook.edu

Medical Physics, Molecular Biophysics, and Biochemistry with an emphasis on spectroscopic molecular methods. Current work in Artificial Intelligence and Machine-Learning applications

     
Janos   

Janos Hajagos, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Chief of Data Analytics
BMI Chief Security Officer

HSC L3-012 | 631-638-1596 | janos.hajagos@stonybrook.edu

Healthcare Data Analytics

     
Richard Moffitt  

Richard Moffitt, PhD
Assistant Professor

HSC L3-045G |  631-638-2271 | richard.moffitt@stonybrookmedicine.edu

Bioinformatics, Personalized Medicine

     
Romeil Sandhu  

Romeil Sandhu, PhD
Assistant Professor

CS 2313F | 631-632-2591 | romeil.sandhu@stonybrook.edu

Networks, control theory, vision, systems biology, and machine learning

     
Fusheng   

Fusheng Wang, PhD
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Recruitment and Admissions

CS 2313D | 631-632-2598 | fusheng.wang@stonybrook.edu

Scalable Big Data Management, GIS, Medical Imaging Informatics, Healthcare Data Analytics

     
Zhaozheng Yin  

Zhaozheng Yin, PhD
SUNY Empire Innovation Associate Professor

CS 2313B | 631-632-2595 | Zhaozheng.Yin@stonybrook.edu

Biomedical Image Analysis, Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Cyber-Physical Systems, Human-Robot Collaboration

Affiliated Clinical Informatics Faculty

Jonas Almeida   

Jonas Almeida, PhD
Senior Investigator, NIH/NCI/DCEG Chief Data Scientist

HSC L4-170 | Phone | Jonas.Almeida@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Tim Duong   

Tim Duong, PhD
Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Radiology

Office | 631-444-5400 | Tim.Duong@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Linda S. Efferen  

Linda S. Efferen, MD, MBA, FACP, FCCP, FCCM
Executive Director & Vice President, Medical Director
Office of Population Health

Office | 631-638-1318 | Linda.Efferen@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Laura Fochtmann   

Laura Fochtmann, MD, MBI
Professor, Department of Psychiatry

Office | 631-444-1607 | laura.fochtmann@stonybrookmedicine.edu 

     
Donald Harrington   

Donald Harrington, MD
Professor and Director of Radiology Research, Department of Radiology

Office | 631-444-7901 | Donald.Harrington@stonybrook.edu

     
Gerald Kelly  

Gerald Kelly, DO, ABF
Clinical Associate Professor
Chief Medical Information Officer, Stony Brook Medicine

Office | 631-444-4644 Gerald.Kelly@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Veena Lingam  

Veena LingamMD
Program and Admissions Director, Clinical Informatics Fellowship

HSC | 631-444-8478 | Veena.Lingam@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Kartik Mani  

Kartik Mani, MD, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology

HSC L2-643 | Phone | Kartik.Mani@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Kimberly Noll  

Kimberly Noel, MD 
Director of Stony Brook Medicine Telehealth
Deputy Chief Medical Medical Information Officer
Chief Quality Officer of PCMH Family Medicine
Clinical Assistant Professor in Department of Family, Population and Preventive Medicine

Office | 631-638-7949 | Kimberly.Noel@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Mary Saltz   

Mary M. Saltz, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Departments of Radiology, 
Biomedical Informatics
Chief Clinical Integration Officer for Community Practice Initiatives
Stony Brook Cancer Center Chief Medical Information Officer
Suffolk County DSRIP Chief Clinical Lead

HSC L3-092 | Phone | Mary.Saltz@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Laurie Shroyer   

A. Laurie W. Shroyer, PhD, MSHA
Professor of Surgery
Vice Chair for Research
Assistant Dean for Educational Research

HSC T19-07 | 631-444-7680 | AnnieLaurie.Shroyer@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
   

Mathew Tharakan, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine

HSC 020 | Phone | Mathew.Tharakan@stonybrookmedicine.edu 

Affiliated Faculty

James Davis   

James Davis, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology

Medical Director, Stony Brook BioBank

HSC L2 706 | 631-444-3360 | James.Davis@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Shmuel Einav   

Shmuel Einav, PhD
Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Director, Medical Technologies Division

100 Engineering Bldg | 631-632-8268 shmuel.einav@stonybrook.edu

     
TJ Gan   

TJ Gan, MD, MHS, FRCA
Professor and Chair, Department of Anesthesiology

HSC | 631-444-4000 | Tong.Gan@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Mark Henry   

Mark Henry, MD
Professor and Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine

HSC L4-080 | 631-444-2461 | Mark.Henry@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Lawrence Hurst   

Lawrence Hurst, MD
Professor, Department of Orthopaedics

HSC T18-02 | 631-444-3145 | Lawrence.Hurst@stonybrookmedicine.edu 

     
Arie Kaufman   

Arie Kaufman, PhD
Professor, Department of Computer Science

203G New Computer Science | 631-632-8441 | ari@cs.sunysb.edu 

     
Prateek Prasanna  

Prateek Prasanna, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Informatics

HSC | Phone | Prateek.Prasanna@stonybrook.edu

     
I.V. Ramakrishnan   

I.V. Ramakrishnan, PhD
Professor, Department of Computer Science

Office | 631-632-8451 | ram@cs.stonybrook.edu

Artificial Intelligence, Computational Logic, Machine Learning/Computational Logic Combination, Information Retrieval, Computer Accessibility

     
Margaret Schede   

Margaret Schedel, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Music
Director, cDACT (Consortium for Digital Arts, Culture and Technology)

3304 Staller Center | 631-632-8610 | Margaret.Schedel@stonybrook.edu 

     
Elinor Schoenfeld   

Elinor Schoenfeld, PhD
Research Professor

HSC L3-104631-632-2457 | Elinor.Schoenfeld@stonybrookmedicine.edu

Community Engaged Research; Addressing Health Disparities; Sensor Data Use for Health; Screening and Early Detection of Disease; Cancer Epidemiology; Cancer Prevention; Diabetes Epidemiology, Data management and informatics

     
Allen Tannenbaum   

Allen Tannenbaum, PhD
SUNY Distinguished Professor, Departments of Computer Science and Applied Math and Statistics

 137 New Computer Science | 631-632-8654 | Allen.Tannenbaum@stonybrook.edu

     
George Teodoro   

George Teodoro, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science, UnB University of Brazil

Office | Phone | Email 

     
Daniel Weymouth   

Daniel Weymouth, PhD
Associate Professor and Director of cDact

3332 Staller Center | 631-632-7345 | Daniel.Weymouth@stonybrook.edu

     
Vincent Yang  

Vincent Yang, MD, PhD
Chair of Medicine

HSC 022 | 631-444-2066 |  vincent.yang@stonybrookmedicine.edu

     
Wei Zhu   

Wei Zhu, PhD
Professor and Deputy Chair, Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics

 1-116 Mathematics Bldg | 631-632-8374 | Wei.Zhu@stonybrook.edu

Biomedical Informatics Fellows

Victor Garcia   

Victor Garcia

Office | 631-444-8497 | Victor.Garcia@stonybrookmedicine.edu

   

 

Chao Tsai  

Chao-wei Tsai

Office | Phone | Chao-wei.Tsai@stonybrookmedicine.edu